bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Bigotry and bad advice

4 Comments

Over the last few weeks we’ve heard how dietary advice to avoid saturated fat has been proven wrong. Dietary advice that has been forced on me as a disabled person in ever increasing peer pressure over the last 30 years. I am not in complete control of my purchases; I must rely on others in many cases to purchase things on my behalf. Decisions are constantly taken from me and the opinions of others forced on me because people “care” and want to make sure that I eat in a way that they consider is good for me.

When I’ve been fitter, during periods of my life when the worst of my chronic symptoms were in remission, and I could eat in the way that suited my body – generally against the standard advice – I’ve been thinner and less hungry. I’m really angry about this because dieting and my weight has dogged my medical experience for years. I’ve been accused of lying when I’ve followed a weight loss plan to the letter and still gained weight, and been told that my constant nagging gnawing hunger on the approved weight loss programmes were all in my head. YEARS of dieting misery. I mean MISERY as my quality of life was sacrificed to the gods of public health experiments.

Now I hear that hospitals all over Scotland have banned vaping on hospital grounds. I’m a wheelchair user and I know how difficult it is to get nursing staff to push me in the wheelchair to get me outside in order to smoke even before we were banished to the street a quarter of a mile from the entrance, “because it’s bad for you, love. You really shouldn’t be smoking.” Now I’m sure I’ll hear that same reason for not pushing me out for a vape. I rely on the good will of others in order to have my choices respected and that goodwill is in short supply when my sane and sensible choices run counter to government propaganda.

So my hospital stays are now going to be as miserable for me as a vaper as they were when I was a smoker. Well done guys!

I don’t trust the propaganda any more. I don’t consider that these idiots who knee-jerk about every last aspect of my life have the first clue about any aspect of my health. I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired and having my already difficult life made impossible by idiots. My reaction to all of it is a single finger salute and an injunction to stick their collective heads where sunlight can’t reach.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

4 thoughts on “Bigotry and bad advice

  1. It’s crazy – My trust of expert advice has been tested to breaking point over the last few years.

    After occidentally quitting smoking after discovering vaping, I’m constantly told that it’s bad for me pointing to studies I know aren’t saying that, then being told ‘we just don’t know’ there’s no evidence when I can see piles of it.

    Because I felt so much healthier after leaving tobacco I decided to shed the weight that had crept up on me due to a sedentary job. I tried low carb against all standard ‘expert’ advice. Chowed down on as much fatty meat, dairy and protein I fancied. The weight fell off!

    The Scottish hospitals aren’t even trying to pretend that they know of any health issue with vaping. They just say it ‘looks like smoking’.

    Well who the hell cares. If they actually gave a damn about my health they’d be handing out ecigs to all the smokers that come through the doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And the diet plan that works best for me is – surprise surprise – a variation on the theme of low carb with veggies making up the bulk of my carb and protein in the biggest proportion. Just like working out that my best way to stay off lit tobacco is by vaping, I worked out that my best way to stay healthy and not hungry was by eating a little saturated fat.

    I’m still an anecdote though. But I’ve come to understand this one thing; to the zealots ‘anecdote’ means ‘someone who has had good results by doing what we say they shouldn’t do, and who should therefore be shut up.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I blog on about OUR diets quite often. I have seen how our health improved when we did the single finger salute. I think the misinformation we are given about smoking, vaping, eating is a crime! https://thelastfurlong.wordpress.com/2014/11/13/on-fat-eat-it/

    Could you simply BE ADAMANT to your carers to buy proper food for you? And I vape discreetly EVERYWHERE. Sod them. No one has caught me yet. Blow excess vapour down your jumper!

    Like

    • It’s tough to be truly assertive when you’re utterly dependant on folk. I try, but the attrition of will keeps going. I say NO LOW FAT STUFF. Low fat stuff appears, and I eat it or starve. Even the supermarkets do it – they think a low fat version of as product is an acceptable substitute if they can’t supply the full fat stuff.

      As I just tried to explain to a friend on twitter, most folk can just nip to the bog and vape. Cameras are monitoring the wards constantly. If I vape in bed I’ll be seen; I need to ask to be pushed somewhere to vape. I have managed to stealth vape in hospital and will do so again if I must. The point is still that we shouldn’t have to hide a safer alternative, and hiding it could cause issues. EG. Oxygen.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

