bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Dear Simon Chapman

3 Comments

I’m responding to your blog post here because you are deleting comments on that post and you have me blocked on Twitter. I’m also responding here because what I have to say will take more than 140 characters. Much more. I can’t remember tweeting you before I was blocked. I do object to being labelled a troll. As you have me blocked, you must consider me to be such. This in itself could be considered trolling – making a statement designed to provoke anger and waiting for those who have been trolled to bite. It does not seem to be very professional.

My Twitter account was seven years old on the 19th December last year. I have only been vaping since 21st January 2014. I have become passionate about vaping, yes, and I get angry when I am dismissed as irrelevant in ongoing discussions that will take away the choice to vape from smokers looking to switch in the future. I am not a troll. Disagreement on the internet is not trolling. I’m not trawling through the internet looking for something to disagree with for the sake of it. I am a passionate advocate of tobacco harm reduction having benefited from it myself. I am a disabled woman who now vapes. I am not astroturf or a shill and I am in no way being motivated into social media campaigns.

I have friends on Twitter. I see their tweets, including their replies to other people, scroll by me on my timeline. If a tweet intrigues me, angers me, makes me laugh, or in any other way gets my notice, I am able to jump into that conversation simply by pressing the ‘reply’ button. The folk on my timeline then see my reply, and the conversation spreads. Such is the beauty of social media; this is working as intended. It is not a plot. It isn’t a Twitter campaign. It is simply social media in action. Can you not understand even these basic concepts of social media interaction?

I would like you to read http://www.clivebates.com/?p=2391 You won’t, but I wish you would. Have a calm and unbiased scroll through my blog too while you’re at it, does it appear to be the ranting of a blinkered fool who writes without any consequences? It does? Consider this then, it’s in a public space and anyone is free to comment. Yet in the thousands of page views since this blog started I’ve had NOT ONE response from anyone questioning my stance on THR. Not one.  I set a challenge back here: I am not a raving ecig fanatic but it has not yet been taken up. On the subject of your own interests in advertising I wrote this and this and this. Provide me with consequences. Remove the bubble I’m supposed to be the twerp writing in. I do not have you blocked on Twitter and I want to engage in open and respectful debate. First comments here are set to moderate to catch spammers, but after that it’s clear posting. Have at me. Prove me wrong… unless it’s actually you who is writing in a bubble of self-made internet barriers without consequences.

 

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

3 thoughts on “Dear Simon Chapman

  1. You tell him your Ladyship, somebody needs to.
    I bet he’s blocked you on Twitter long ago, in my estimation that is the coward’s way.

    Like

  2. excellent, dear!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

