bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Have you decided to ditch the ciggies at midnight tonight?

Leave a comment

Well good luck with it. I’ve had several new years like that and my heart goes out to you. I’m not going to preach at you, I’m just going to give a few general pointers from my successful switch experience that might help. Please note that I’m not giving medical advice, and my advice should never, ever be taken as medical advice. I’m just a layman, but one who has gone through this process and can tell my story to help others facing this same journey.

  • Get a decent starter kit. There is no perfect set up that will work for everyone. I suggest a CE4 clearomiser on an ego style battery or an Evod kit (see libertyflights.co.uk or cloud9vaping)  as the most basic default. If you’re willing to spend a little more then a set up from Naturevape is a good investment. Honestly it’s all trial and error. I wasn’t completely happy with my set up until I started on rebuildables and now it’s better than smoking for me.
  • Get spares. And replacement coils. Then get backups to the backups. I do suggest buying spares of everything, and as I’m not a vendor and have no financial incentive for telling you to do so, I’ll say it again. Buy spares. If your lighter broke, it was easy to get a replacement, or at a pinch find another way to light your cigarette. If you ran out of ciggies, then the 24 hour garage would sell you more. Even though juice is easier to get hold of since garages started stocking it, a battery and atomiser/clearomiser might be a little trickier. I suggest at least a week’s supply of juice, and 2 spare CE4s, or some spare Evod/Naturevape coils and even a second tank as a back up. A second battery is always a good plan too. The vendors I suggest on this blog get things out to you really quickly, but you don’t want to be in the position of having nothing till the postman gets to you tomorrow.
  • Try different juices. Get a variety of nicotine strengths and flavours of juice and different PG/VG ratios.
    Liberty flights
    The alchemists cupboard
    Chef’s Vapour
    Digby’s
    T-juice
    Vapercaper
    Scopes Eliquids
    Drippa – I reviewed this juice subscription service here.
  • Use it enough! I can’t emphasise this strongly enough. You’ve got a set up that you like, and that you enjoy. You’re getting LESS nicotine from it than you were from smoking so you will naturally want to use it more, especially at first. This is your pacifier; it is stopping you smoking. So use it more than you smoked. Yes I said more. See Bernd-Meyer who is a scientist and knows what he’s talking about.
  • Seek advice. If you’re having problems, ask questions. Some common ones are caused by giving up smoking rather than a reaction to vaping. You might not have the right set up for you. I remember my first few days of vaping when everything started being harsh on my throat and if I hadn’t had a lower PG juice to switch to I might have gone back to smoking. Don’t struggle through it alone. Help is out there. There are good vaping forums, good advice from people like VTTV and P Bursado – who has a beginners guide video up right there on that link, Vapingpoint, Robert the Armed Vaper. There are more, but these are a good start.
  • Don’t beat yourself up if you have a ciggy. Switching isn’t like a quit attempt. It isn’t the end of the world if you smoke. Whatever works for you. If you get the right vaping set up, you’ll enjoy it and you’ll naturally use it instead of smoking.

I’m not convinced that January the first is the best day to pick for either a quit or a switch, but don’t take my word for it. The best way to do it is in the best way for you. My starter guide is here.

I wish you all the best for Hogmanay, and good health in 2015 whatever you do.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

Leave a Reply

