bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Day Twenty Seven, It’s just a choice

Leave a comment

I am certain that if I had been handed a gen2 device three years ago, I would have switched then. It’s like the evil queen handing you two apples, one lethal, one possibly mildly toxic and asking which you want a bite out of, a no-brain choice really? But I didn’t know about second generation ecigs; all I knew was the little cig-alike things that were OK at best, rotten at worst. I needed to know about second generation devices, needed the information and back then I couldn’t find it.

Second generation devices look weird to the average smoker, without information they think that anything other than a cig-alike device is for the weirdo hobbyists, or worse. I also firmly believed I’d never want to vape anything other than tobacco flavour juice, because I wanted it to mimic smoking as closely as possible. Once I’d switched vaping became better than smoking for me and the flavours were a huge part of that experience. I’d no more want a vape to taste exactly ike a fag now than I would want to smoke a tobacco cigarette.

There’s the thing; I DON’T WANT TO SMOKE. I’m not sitting here getting over another craving, an experience which never goes away for me when I quit smoking. I’m sitting here puffing on caramel flavoured nicotine laced happiness. I don’t want a fag. I don’t need a fag. I’m not twitchy, or irritable. Smokers need to know that vaping works. I needed to know that vaping works, that it wasn’t too good to be true.

I don’t really want big tobacco selling cigalikes to be the first face of vaping that smokers see. I’d rather no vaper ever had to give money back to them, but first generation devices are a gateway device – they gateway to better vape setups. They open a smoker’s mind to the possibility that if this is OK, then perhaps THAT might be better. Hopefully THAT is a well made and QC tested (simple legislation here) second or third gen device, with a good quality e-liquid (also simple regs) in it. But because of the current stromash over ecigs, it looks as though in two years time that just won’t happen. Queue hundreds of smokers going back to tobacco, or trying yet another doomed-to-yoyo quit attempt, with all the stress and symptoms of a totally unnecessary withdrawal process.

I have turned into an Ecig evangelist, I’ll admit it. About two years ago my then dentist subjected me to an anti-smoking rant for a good half hour. The sort of conversation that is as welcome to a smoker as a religious nut is to an atheist. After giving him my undivided attention, and nodded in all the right places, I told him that the day he provided me with a viable directly replacing alternative to smoking would be the day I switched. He couldn’t answer that one. My benefit V risk at that point weighed nicotine so highly that smoking was better than any alternative I knew of.

I kept my word though. The day I tried a viable direct replacement for smoking was the day I switched.

 

 

 

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

Leave a Reply

