bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Day Twenty Three, Am I doing it wrong?

Leave a comment

I was accused of vaping too much today, in a conversation with another vaper who admittedly hasn’t done as much research as I have, but I had to defend my position on the fly.

I have deliberately dropped my nicotine content to 12mg because I vape a lot. His nic content is hovering around the 18mg mark, up to 24mg sometimes. He was smoking 60 a day and happy at that level, I was struggling to keep my smoking down to under 20 a day. I mean struggling; it was a battle. My system was demanding more nicotine than I was prepared to give it from smoking, risk V benefit. So his vaping follows a different pattern from mine. I pointed out that it takes a full 35 mins to get a full ‘cigarettes’ worth of nicotine from vaping at 18mg, and that I’m vaping at 12mg. I pointed out that I needed MORE than I was getting through smoking, and that we self-titrate levels, so that it’s pretty much impossible to OD on nicotine through vaping.

Still he maintained that I was vaping too much in comparison to him, I suggested that he wasn’t comparing like for like; that our needs were different and our usage patterns were naturally going to be different. That what worked for him wasn’t necessarily going to work for me. Why shouldn’t I vape as I please? It’s not doing me any harm?

That’s when I discovered that  what was worrying him was the habit, just the pattern of hand to mouth that made me rely on the e-cigarette as much as I had relied on the ciggies. I was a little shocked, and he did have a point. I just don’t have a problem with being attatched to my vape, any more than I have a problem being attatched to my morning caffeine. I had a HUGE problem with being a habitual smoker, as that was harming me. There are reasons that people with health issues self medicate with caffeine and nicotine, and as neither are doing me as much harm as smoking was, I see no reason to believe the habit is a bad one.

So in answer to the question. No, I’m not doing it wrong. I’ve taken a balanced and informed decision to vape as much as I please. I haven’t killed myself yet, and I doubt I’ll keel over even if I were chain vaping 12mg. These are the sort of things that we need to be prepared to answer though, because the questions will be asked at some point in your vaping life.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

Leave a Reply

