bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Day Twenty, The mixologist is in the kitchen

Leave a comment

I have today mixed three 50ml batches of my own juice. I don’t suggest you do the same; 10ml batches are what I should have started with. I’ll have a large amount of waste if any of these juices are a disaster, and that’s a risk I was prepared to take for the sake of larger quantities being easier for me to sort out and measure off. I’m not capable of working in ‘drops’ because my hands just refuse to stay operative for that long. I worked to a 50/50 PG/VG, 12mg strength. I made Creamy custard (needs a 4 week steep) Creme caramel (3 weeks +) and a caramel (which may be OK in 2 weeks, but is likely to need a week longer). Using the eJuice me Up software made quantities so simple even a novice like me could be reasonably confident mixing. There is no way in God’s Green Earth I could have done this without something doing the maths for me. I really hope this works, but if it does I’ll be a very happy vaper indeed. Seeing the infamous Grant’s Vanilla Custard fly off the shelf to ‘sold out’ in about 3 hours was fascinating to watch, and I deliberately didn’t order any. I have enough juices, with some more unusual ones on their way, to last me now until these home brewed ones steep.

I haven’t felt the need to jump into any forums and ask questions. Someone laughed at me in chat the other night for doing so much in vaping so soon after starting, but really. I’m just following in the footsteps of folk that have already done the ground work. I went to the UKvapers mixology forum, looked at their flavour adding percentage guide sticky post, and took their suggestions at face value. That seems to work both in terms of how much I needed to add to a premixed juice that wasn’t working for me, and give me a base to work out what to start my own mixes at, with my added experience as a cook to guide me in what flavours would enhance basics. All my stuff might turn out foul yet, just as my coils might have been a distaster, but the groundwork is already there. I’m just taking the information I find and using it as best I can.

I’m still enjoying myself a lot. There are endless possibilities here, none of which have to break the bank. Even with the rebuildables I’ve tried, I still go back to the mini-protanks for a faff free good vape. The Custard’s Last stand in the AgT with the cotton wool wick and the 1.7 ohm coil is a nice vape though I think I can do better.

Current Vapes: CLS in the AgT, vapology double shot caramel in one mini protank, and Scope’s Blueberry in the other.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

Leave a Reply

