bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Day Thirteen, My lucky number; Better win the lottery.

Leave a comment

I love the shiny things you can get to vape with. I never used to buy nice things for smoking, because I saw them as a psychological barrier to giving up. In this new world with shiny toys to tempt the budding magpie you can spend a fortune, and indeed a lot of vapers will tell you that to get the best experience, you need the best gear – put a £120 Kraken on your £120 Nemesis, or a £78 Spheroid on your £170 Flair box. I would if I could. Oh I would. I’d prefer it if there were more pretty things for the female vaper who isn’t into pink and diamanté bling, more steampunk style mods a la Warehouse 13 for the geek loving female that I am, but those too cost an absolute fortune, as they should being one off pieces of tech-art. I can’t afford a WH13 keyboard, and I can’t afford the top end mods.

For the newbie like me the things that I can afford lead down a slippery slope to poorly constructed cheaply made ‘clones’ of originals. Coming from Disney Pin Trading, which has basically been eaten away by the cheap fake pins being imported by weight, I am naturally against the clone copies of the expensive things. But their popularity creates problems; people who can’t afford the “real thing” buy the cheap copies and get substandard products that don’t work as well. Tales of chromed brass rather than stainless steel worry me.

There are lower cost alternatives to buying the fakes, perhaps not as good, and reportedly not as easy to set up. Companies are trying to bring in ‘middle of the road’ gear for the folk that want to take vaping to the next level, but still the design and production of these prices them OUT of the beginner market. Should newbies like me jump in and get a Kraken first thing? Of course not! That would be idiotic.

For people wanting to take a tentative step onto the ladder of rebuildables I wish there was an atomiser that was easy to set up, easy to use, had enough little issues with it to make sure a beginner learned what NOT to do in regards to set up. As well insulated as a Squape seems to be. In fact I’d like stabilisers (training wheels) on that atomiser, and it should come in at about the £25 – £35 level. If the fogger didn’t have that stupid logo on the side, then the V3 would tick a fair few of the boxes, but by almost copying the Foggati, they shot themselves in the foot. A clone that isn’t a clone but is a clone but isn’t a clone. The only way for me to straighten my conscience  is to buy one second hand, so the manufacturer isn’t getting any money from me, but that too causes issues.

At the moment the least expensive atomisers seem to be the ones that people find most tricky to set up. The Ag Ti, the AGA T 2 and 2+, the MAGA (cloud9vaping) all nice looking, reasonably priced but by all accounts utter ugbbers to set up. The micro D at £7 odd looks amazing and the IGO – W which is pretty cheap and apparently pretty simple, but I don’t want a dripper, I want a tank. I don’t want to have juice anywhere other than locked up in my kitchen cupboard away from a certain beak on a certain bird, or sealed inside glass and metal that would take him more than 10 seconds to get into. Next choice is the Kayfun at £68 for the lite plus. A lot of money to shell out when you might not even like rebuildables.

Chances are that there is one out there I don’t know about; information isn’t easy to weave out from underneath opinions on the subject – and no, I don’t intend to post the same old thread on the same forums; Which rebuildable for a newbie? Has been asked and argued over until the forums are as sick of it as they are of the clone wars.

To the guys making the good quality clones; Stop it! Make your own and price it right and it will sell on its own merit. The market is right here guys. I’m waiting for you to catch up. And for my Kanthal to arrive, hence Grumpy Beki. The rant is still valid though.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

Leave a Reply

