bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Day Five, Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Leave a comment

I’m drinking tea, rather than coffee. This is bizarre but obviously my body has decided it needs the fluids and less caffeine than it used to, and hey, who am I to argue? Coming off the rest of the nasties in tobacco smoke is an eye opener to say the least. No wonder at all that some people decide that vaping is not for them, as three or four days in they’ve got all of these symptoms and they blame it on the vape rather than remembering how bad it feels coming off burnt tobacco using any other method. Right now I have:

  1. Mouth ulcers (canker sores for you Americans)
  2. Sore throat, the infamous “quitter’s throat”.
  3. Pretty convinced that what’s knocked me flat these past few days is “quitter’s flu”.
  4. Severe distaste for my friend’s tobacco smoke, it smells FOUL and it’s making my allergies react.
  5. Quitter’s zits. Hello teenage acne. I didn’t miss you, go away!
  6. I’m coughing up muck.

All of these things happened to me when I gave up ciggies using patches, and all the times I went cold turkey. The one thing I’m not going to do is switch back to the tobacco.

On the plus side I don’t have the mood swings, or cravings. I’m not depressed or suppressing the rage I usually get when I come off burnt tobacco; no one has even been threatened with violence. I’m feeling calm and mellow. I don’t have increased appetite – I actually turned down a pudding yesterday. I’m eating more healthily because I can taste my food, my sense of smell is coming back, I only used my ventolin inhaler (which contains PG!) once since Tuesday and I can breathe far more easily. I’m also vaping less than I did at first already, so I’m really not concerned about how much I vape; my body knows how much nicotine it needs.

The legislation that’s being pushed through both in the UK and the EU is worrying, mainly because people with vested interests against e-cigarettes seem to be taking advantage of the fact that the average politician knows nothing about them. One thing that is really bugging me is that it seems that (as things stand right now) the legislation will stop me using flavours in my ejuice. I can say this for certain; if I hadn’t found flavours that I loved (like watermelon) I wouldn’t have made it past day 2 of vaping. Those who know nothing about adults trying to switch from smoking to vaping in order to reduce the harm that smoking does to them have no right to make these choices for me. They see these flavours and assume that they market eciggies to children. Those flavours  are not aimed at children, they are aimed at people like me who want vaping to taste BETTER than the evil white tubes. I need reasons not to go back to burning tobacco, and if that includes vaping watermelon squish, surely legislation should be lenient enough to encourage me. Please allow me my indulgent flavours. Don’t limit me to tobacco flavours, as I’m trying to give up tobacco, or medicine flavours which taste worse.

No, we don’t know what the long term effects of vaping are. I know this; benefit to risk I’ll vape rather than smoke. We already know far more about what’s in an eciggy than we do about what’s in burnt tobacco, including what’s been added to burning tobacco by the tobacco companies. Nicotine is not the only addictive substance in tobacco. Nicotine itself is probably about as harmful as caffeine. I would never want my children to smoke; never want them to be in the situation that I was in before I discovered vaping. I wouldn’t want them to pick up an e-ciggy and start vaping either, but if they smoked, I’d want them to switch to vaping.

The official line on the possible risks from vaping seems to be “we don’t know”, which in my opinion is more along the lines of “la la la I can’t hear you’, or even “I see no ships” when you look at all the proper per reviewed research into e-cigarettes that’s out there.

Looks like I picked a grand time to start vaping.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

Leave a Reply

