bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Day Two, juice.

1 Comment

First things first. If you are under 18 go away. If you are a non-smoker, go away. E-cigs are not for you. You are not welcome here. Nicotine is an addiction I wish I didn’t have, and this is my way of dealing with it. Don’t take up a habit you’ll regret and for the love of everything you ever held dear, don’t smoke.  All opinions here are my own, I make no medical claims for ecig use, and I’m not a doctor. I am just telling my story and giving my opinion on things that may help other smokers like me doing their own research into the switch to vaping. Don’t take my opinion as gospel truth. Find other resources and cross check this information. I might be wrong. In fact I have probably made umpteen newbie mistakes already – and if I did, you probably will too.

Juice is very much a subjective topic. I started with a tobacco flavour, does everyone start with a tobacco flavour? I suppose most do. Don’t get more than one 10ml bottle though. At 18mg 70/30 tobacco flavour was fine, and it did it’s job, but I only had one tank full of that because it was kinda… meh. So. I switched to the cherry bomb. I’d got those in 24mg 70/30. Bear with me; I am going to explain the numbers. I was fine at first, even enjoyed it,  but after a couple of hours it wasn’t so much a throat hit as a throat-grab-and-hold-you-down-till-you-beg-for-mercy. I caved in, rinsed the tank again and tried the chocolate one. Smart girl, I only put a little bit in the tank because it tasted to me like chocolate would taste without sugar and ground into powder and set alight. Oh how I wished for a dripper, but you vape what you got. I turned my VV down so low it was stupid. I wondered if it was my set up. This head is 2.6 ohm, a bit high perhaps? Should I change it? Crank the wattage down again? Where was this gorgeous flavour everyone raved about?  I started doing research.

Ejuice 101, any mistakes are mine.

the 70/30 I talked about up there is PG/VG ratio. Ejuice is made up from PG and VG, with Nicotine and food safe flavours. Other sites give you the chemistry behind it – not important here. PG carries a flavour and gives you a throat hit, making vaping ‘feel’ like smoking on the throat. It doesn’t create a lot of vapour itself though, so to it they add the VG for that. BUT it seems that a lot of the throat hit also comes from the nicotine concentration, so higher nic juices are more likely to grab you by the throat to say hello.

I looked sideways at the 18mg ‘watermelon squish’ vapercaper had sent me. Not a flavour I would have chosen. I checked the PG/VG ratio. 60/40. I half-filled my (once again rinsed) mini protank and took a tentative drag…

~~~~~~~~~~~~flashback dissolve~~~~~~~~

I ‘m 9 years old. I’ve just walked out of my piano teacher’s house, down to the corner shop on Clifton Road in Salisbury. In there you could get giant watermelon gobstoppers that were both sweet and fresh, too big to fit in your mouth, and they lasted for hours. Sticky and sugar rushed and happy my brother and I waited for dad to pick us up…

~~~~~~~~~~~/flashback~~~~~~~~~

Where am I? Oh yes, filling my protank to the brim, whacking the wattage back up and ordering 50mls of this stuff. OK I’m done.

I’d found my personal ‘sweet spot’. 60/40 18ml juice with a good whack of flavour, that wasn’t trying to strangle me. I trotted off to two different vendors and ordered a few more flavours in that combination. Where your sweet spot will be is different from mine. Mine will probably change as I get used to vaping and my tastebuds recover from smoking, yours probably will too. Or not. It’s subjective.

What did I learn? Don’t get more than 10ml of any one ejuice, get a variety from different vendors, get different strengths and before you blame your set up, try another strength and PG/VG ratio. Keep the juices you don’t like though. They’ll taste totally different 3 months from now, and apparently there’s this thing that happens when you can’t taste your ejiuce at all for a few days. It’s supposed to be quite common, so yes. I can vape some of this stuff that tastes dehydrated when I can’t taste anything at all. If it happens to me. Which it may not. All opinions on taste and flavour are subject to change without notice. That watermeon squish though… wow.

Why the funky kiddy flavours in vape? Adults are just big kids who have been around a bit longer, and hey, why shouldn’t we get a reward for giving up the stinky cigs?  Gods I Iove this juice.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

One thought on “Day Two, juice.

  1. Pingback: Day Ninety Six, more juice. | bekivapes

Leave a Reply

