bekivapes

My journey into vaping

Day One

Leave a comment

I’m sitting here smoking a stinky cigarette, waiting for the postman to deliver a parcel containing a proper vaping starter kit. I’m actually excited. A little bit of the child at Christmas feeling waiting for this box with shiny toys in it. I’m hoping that this journey into vaping will be the thing that finally gets me away from the harmful effects of tobacco, without giving up the nicotine that I simply can’t quit. That seems to be a good stated goal; although if it doesn’t work that way, at least I’ll have smoked a few less cigarettes than I would have done.

I’m smoking too much. It’s crept back up on me from where I’d smoke 3 or 4 rollies a day, to where I’m now back over 20 a day, and my health is poor enough without adding that load to my system. I’m wheezing more, I feel in myself that it’s damaging me and I know full well that giving it up is a road to all sorts of self-hate, faliure, weight gain, mood swings and ultimately ends with me smoking again. I stop smoking every day. More than 20 times a day. It really is about time I stopped quitting. I’ve tried e-ciggies before, and still use my little cartomiser ‘mini-ciggy’ when I can’t smoke a stinky. It helps, but it doesn’t replace smoking and I thought the whole e-ciggy thing was another case of ‘if it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is.” I kept using the little cartomiser though, because it has been a real help in situations where I simply couldn’t smoke.  That little bit of positive, that little bit of “this is actually OK, and if it worked like it OUGHT to work, it would replace cigarettes for me” seems to have kept me optimistic that perhaps it isn’t too good to be true. That perhaps there IS something out there that works as that miniciggy OUGHT to work.

I saw a deal on a popular brand of e-ciggy about 24 hours ago, and decided to do some research. I really didn’t want to just buy the first thing I saw, just because it was on special offer and actually I’m really glad I didn’t. I think now I know more about vaping that I would have been disappointed again had I just bought that offer.

I got my eyes opened. I mean… there’s a whole world of vaping – a word I didn’t know existed 24 hours ago – out there. There are nutters just like me out there who thought the same way I did and it worked for them! I’ve found whole communities of happily insane nicotine addicts worldwide preaching the wonders of vapour. How they’ve smoked hundreds of thousands fewer cigarettes than they would have done without it. How did I not know about this before? Is this all too good to be true? There is an EU legislative fly in the ointment that worries me a great deal. What encourages me is that it’s BOTH big pharma (tin foil hats off please) and the tobacco industry that are lobbying against vaping. There might be a little bit of smoke without fire here. Actually there seems to be gallons of exotic flavoured nicotine laced vape without fire. The vapers are not the ones blowing smoke from all I’ve seen.

The vapers reading this are on the edge of their seats. “But what did you order?” they’re shouting. “I want you to have ordered something worth having! Please Gods tell me you didn’t buy another cartomiser!” It’s fine. I didn’t. I have bought an Innokin itaste VV v3 which my retailler bundled with a mini protank 2 and some 18MG Wizard’s leaf juice. That was next week’s baccy money’s worth. I’m probably going to go on a wild juice buying spree later and spend this weekends ‘real ciggy’ (as opposed to roll-ups) allowance on that. I’ll get a few higher nic juices, and some different flavours so I can change them when my tastebuds get used to the flavours.

If I can get a little help (I’m disabled and struggle with day-to-day tasks) I’ll try and do a little unboxing and set up vid later, and v-blog my first experiences with vaping. If the postie doesn’t bring my box, then it’ll be Monday. I really hope it won’t be Monday.

Author: Beki

A Mad middle aged woman who lives in the middle of nowhere, Scotland with a parrot, two Jack Russells, some koi, and a tank full of tropical fish. I have M.E. but that's really not important. I draw, paint, write, game, garden, blog and enjoy a good vape. I have three lovely grown up offspring, and 2 ex-husbands. I do genuinely have the legal title of 'Lady Rebecca Jane [SURNAME]', and am proud to support the restoration project which bestowed that title on me. I will happily explain where to find more information on this if you contact me.

Leave a Reply

